Summerhill Win Meath Minor Football Championship Division 1

Summerhill won their fourth Meath Minor Football Championship Division 1 and the first time since 2005 with a hard fought five point win over Skryne on a bright and blustery day Saturday in Pairc Tailteann.

Summerhill played with the advantage of the strong wind in the first half that blew directly into the O’ Mahoney’s end. Summerhill open brightly with 2 frees converted by Cathal Ryan. Skryne opened their account soon after with a well worked point and then added a fine goal. The concession of this goal did not faze Summerhill who scored four unanswered points in the space of three minutes to regain the lead. Cathal Ryan accounted for two of these points, the first from about 40 meters following good work by Ronan Ryan in midfield. The other two were fine scores by Diarmuid McCabe.

Skyrne replied with a point of the own but Summerhill were dominating at this stage especially at midfield. In the 15th minute Conor Frayne did well to put over a point at close range from a tight angle. Eoghan Crowe added another point from play after a great run forward from his wing back position. Minutes later Crowe added his second point.

In the 22nd minutes of the half midfielder Ronan Ryan fired a great shot low and hard to the corner of the net after good work out the field by Mark Donoghue and Eoghan Crowe. Skryne pointed a free before good inter-play between the Ryan twins resulted in a good point from Ross to leave the half time score Summerhill 1-10 Skyrne 1-3. Summerhill had dominated the first half with the aid of the strong wind but as they left the pitch at the break the conversation among their supporters was to whether it was a big enough lead or not  given the strength of the wind.

Summerhill opened the scoring in the second half with a point from Cathal Ryan with 30 seconds. this was to be their last score for 17 minutes. Skyrne dominated the game during the next 15 minutes scoring five unanswered points to close the gap to three points. During the time Summerhill struggled to mount any sort of attack as Skyrne can at them with all gun blazing. Liam Shaw steadied Summerhill with a fine score in the 17th minute. Then came a pivotal moment in the game in the 19th minute of the half when Summerhills goal keeper Sean Blackwell made a great save to deny Skyrne a goal. Summerhill finished strongly and added further points from McCabe and Ross Ryan to leave the Summerhill 1-14 Skyrne 1-9.

After the game Meath Minor Board Chairman John Kavanagh presented the Delaney Cup to Summerhill captain Ross Ryan.



Full-time Score: 

Summerhill 1-14 Skyrne 1-09

Date of Match: 

Saturday, October 24, 2015

Half-time Score: 

Summerhill 1-10 Skyrne 1-3


Sean Blackwell, Jack Bruton,Iarla Hughes,Cian Devlin, John Keane, Jack Davies, Eoghan Crowe, Ross Ryan, Ronan Ryan, Kyle Benson,Cathal Ryan,Mark Donoghue, Diarmuid Mc Cabe, Conar Frayne, Liam Shaw.


Sean Larkin for Jack Davies.
Ciaran Boyce for  Diarmuid Mc Cab
Conar Mc Nally for Kyle Benson,
Jack Quinn for Sean Larkin


Cathal Ryan 0-5 (2f), Diarmuid McCabe (0-3), Ronan Ryan (1-0) Ross Ryan (0-2), EoghanCrowe (0-2), Conor Frayne (0-1), Liam shaw (0-1).